Reason #3 to Keep Living: Tea

blog 003

In the midst of first term essay writing, I can’t help but be thankful for the simple role tea plays in my life. Often it is just a warm mug to wrap my hands around, but on days like these, when I am bent over my laptop for hours and my brain begins to ache from the mere act of thinking, tea is sometimes the only thing that gets me out of bed in the morning. My days seem to go a little like this:

  1. Wake up from my alarm to a room immersed in orange light created by the sun leaking through those atrocious pink curtains covering my windows. Time to stumble out of bed and get some tea.
  2. Eventually dress myself and stand staring at my essay notes and the stack of books teetering atop my desk. Where to start? Um, probably with some tea.
  3. Find my way to the school library and sit for maybe an hour typing up a storm until I acquire an unbearable craving for — yup, you guessed it –tea!
  4. Survive the day somehow with not nearly enough tea.
  5. Land sleepily on the couch in the evening (or the bed, or the floor — really whatever surface will accommodate me), realizing with great trepidation that I am almost too tired to take a sip of my steaming cup of tea.
  6. Slip into unconsciousness sometime close to midnight and dream about… well… tea.
  7. Wake up, do it all over again, and try pointlessly to convince myself that the quality of my life doesn’t entirely depend on a bag of herbs soaked in a mug of boiling water (AKA tea).

Happy writing and tea-drinking, folks!


 

If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo (and, if you want, a brief explanation) to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo (and writing) will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come! 


To read the original concept of Reasons to Keep Living, click here

 

Leave a Reply

