Reason #12 to Keep Living: Lazy Dayz

blog 1 010

A home-made Lego movie set: creativity at its finest!

Lazy days sprout creativity. They allow enough head space for the mind to form new thoughts, ideas, and ways of envisioning itself in the world. Lazy days are essentially days of rest for a bloated brain, and this form of mental relaxation is necessary for the birth of creative projects.

At least, that’s what I tell myself on lazy days, when I do nothing more than read an excess of Wuthering Heights out loud, jot down a few story ideas in my notebook, play around on an out-of-tune guitar and electric drum kit, and watch my boyfriend make a stop-motion film out of some Lego, Bristol board, and a camera. This last is an example of what happens when your professor gives you creative license on your end-of-term project rather than simply requiring you to write an essay. Though his creative endeavour was for a university course rather than merely for pleasure, and his day was much less lazy than mine, we both managed to indulge to some degree in a restful and open state of mind.

Not everyone can have lazy days. I am fortunate enough to have a short length of time, between the end of classes and the start of my summer job, in which I can entertain ideas for a novel I want to write, dive into my reading, and take numerous naps. Many people would see this as a waste of time, but to me it’s the rejuvenation of my creative energies, a day (or days) in which my mind can relax after a long sprint and warm up for the next marathon.

If you have the opportunity to enjoy a lazy day, I advise you to do so. Your brain needs rest, just as much as any other part of you.


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


To read the original post of Reasons to Keep Living, click here

 

Leave a Reply

