Reason #15 to Keep Living: The Squirrel Tree

blog 003

My friends! I have been so sick and swallowed up by life that for the first time I missed the bi-weekly date for 101 Reasons to Keep LivingI am truly sorry, and for that reason I will be giving you two blog posts today: this as well as a quotation to follow.

While sick, I have spent a large amount of time inside, as can probably be expected. I’ve spent it reading, and writing when I can, and often — as depressing as this sounds — staring out the front window into the yard. A small couch sits just below the window, and that is where I plop myself down to enjoy the view of, well, The Squirrel Tree. 

“The Squirrel Tree” is a tree stationed in the middle of my front yard. It has an odd shape, as you can see from the picture, with a short, thick trunk and limbs which stretch out and then twist upward, creating a perfect hangout for my little buddies . The squirrels roll and tumble and scamper, scuttling along the branches and darting out onto the lawn to retrieve some object of interest from between the blades of grass. (Oddly enough, I couldn’t capture any squirrels in the photo.)

I find the squirrels intriguing. In fact, I find them beyond intriguing: I find them exciting and hilarious. Perhaps my interest in them derives from their liveliness which so far exceeds my own. Perhaps. But, I think, my interest also has something to do with that tree, with those limbs which curl like arms around the squirrels. I think it has something to do with the squirrels having a place to tumble and wrestle, rather than the mere fact that they are tumbling and wrestling (let’s be honest, squirrels tumble and wrestle everywhere). I think it has something to do with the tree being the squirrels’ designated home, or at least their designated playground. The shallow pocket between the branches provides a space for them to chew nuts and chatter, and I feel as if I could easily join them, twitch my tail with them, laugh with them.

But, for now, I will remain content with watching.


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!

Leave a Reply

