Reason #16 to Keep Living: Food

blog 001

After moving out of my parents’ house for the first time, I have finally learned the importance and value of food. I have discovered (through much trial and error) how long it takes to make, how much it really costs, and how much my body desperately needs it. 

Two days ago, my mother gave me the gift of food. She took me grocery shopping and bought the entire load. I didn’t ask her to; she just did it. She also included items I would never have bought for myself, like cookies and blackberries and the ingredients for caesar salad.

The amazing part is, I would never have counted this as a gift before I moved out. I would have taken it for granted and never thought twice about the fact that my mom should be buying me food and taking care of me.

I am glad I have finally put things in perspective. The food tastes better because of it.


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come! 


To read the original post of Reasons to Keep Living, click here

Leave a Reply

