Reason #17 to Keep Living: Libraries

blog 3 001

Working on my writing from home has proven to be more difficult than I first anticipated. There is my laptop, first of all, which of course has access to the internet, with facebook, email, blogs, and numerous other sites to browse. Then there is food, which I can’t help but snack on. Then there are books I want to read, and music I want to listen to, and a bed I want to sleep in. On top of all that is a sluggish, draining inertia which develops in both my mind and body when I spend too many hours in my house sitting by a desk.

It’s not hard to imagine why I haven’t been getting much work done.

Then, I began to make use of the library. The library is a magical place where the desks have little lights on them and everyone is quiet (usually) and you’re surrounded by the best things in the world — those being books. The library is private enough that you can do your work, but public enough that you feel like you should stop messing around and just get down to it.

I’m finally making some progress on my writing, and in the meantime the library has given me another reason to keep living!


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


To read the original post of Reasons to Keep Living, click here

Leave a Reply

