Reason #19 to Keep Living: Night Runs

night run 003

No one told me that depression, at least the kind that I have, kills one’s ability to exercise. In about three years I transformed from a fairly fit human being into someone who couldn’t jog for more than five minutes without losing her breath.

Now, I have gotten back into it. The new medication I am taking has given me more energy, and along with that more mental motivation to get out of the house and move my body. I never thought I could look forward to exercise, but now I can’t wait for my nightly runs, when I plug my music into my ears and fly.

The streets are quiet at night. The lights are soft. My blood rushes and floods my heart and I am alive. 


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


To read the original post of Reasons to Keep Living, click here

4 thoughts on “Reason #19 to Keep Living: Night Runs

  1. I just discovered your blog. I’m struggling with severe depression crisis, but today I managed to go for a walk in a park and did some exercises. It really helps indeed. Keep writing, you may not know but it might really help other people, even in other countries 🙂

    Like

    • Alex, thank you so much for reading my blog and encouraging me to keep writing. I always hope that my words will reach someone who really needs them. 🙂 Exercise is definitely important when it comes to depression, and the horrible part is, it is very, very difficult to get up and do exercise when you’re depressed. It’s a vicious cycle. Take each day one at a time, and remember that things can get better.
      Good luck and I hope to hear more from you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

