Reason #20 to Keep Living: Kindness in Japan

*My apologies! I don’t know how this happened, but this post was written two weeks ago on the day it was supposed to be published. Somehow it remained a draft and never made it onto the Amber Typewriter. I only noticed this now after returning home from my three-week stay in Japan. 

p.s. The first line of the article seems to have even more significance now. Again, my apologies!

DSC01259

You know you’re living when you don’t have the desire to show proof of your life to the world wide web.

But, here I am. After seven days of ceaseless travel I have finally found the time and internet access to share some of my adventures. This journey to Japan has given me over a thousand reasons to keep living, but the most inspiring of all these is the people I have met along the way.

It isn’t often that a family from a different country, a different culture, that speaks a different language and knows next to nothing about you will take you in as one of their own. I have been given some of the most delicious food I have ever eaten, a comfortable room to sleep in, and free transportation to event after event (Sumo, a traditional tea ceremony, and a Tanabata festival just to name a few). I have been taught bits of Japanese language and culture, dressed in a kimono, and, most incredibly, been given the no-strings-attached company of perhaps the most intelligent, generous, and hilarious people I have ever met.

I have no way to repay this family or this country for welcoming me with open arms, but I will do my best to never forget them.

The world is huge and beautiful. If you can’t find your reason to keep living at home, get up and go looking for it.


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


To read the original post of Reasons to Keep Living, click here.

Leave a Reply

