Reason #28 to Keep Living: Creating on Cold Days

dsc01885

My study of monsters goes continually deeper, and deeper, and deeper. Currently I am reading Song of Kali by Dan Simmons, writing a (so far) unnamed novella revolving around the idea of the female monster, and creating an online writing portfolio that focuses specifically on my horror writing. 

The drawing above is for the writing portfolio. I am no visual artist, but I was determined to use simple, crude drawings as illustrations for each of my writing pieces. This was drawn months ago when my boyfriend suggested we sit down and draw pictures of monsters instead of watching T.V. or playing video games as we usually did during our free time in the summer. The drawing has now been put to good use.

Now I must draw more. Create more. And what better day on which to create than this one, now that the snow has finally  swallowed the ground and the wind shoots in the front door whenever I open it?

Perhaps the only good thing about inclement weather is that it makes me relish being indoors and warm, writing and drawing and inventing. With the snow, the monsters somehow come alive within me.

Now to get them out onto the page…


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


Read the original post of 101 Reasons to Keep Living to discover the genesis of this project. 

2 thoughts on “Reason #28 to Keep Living: Creating on Cold Days

  1. This looks a little bit like me lol 🙂

    On Monday, November 21, 2016, The Amber Typewriter wrote:

    > Erica McKeen posted: ” My study of monsters goes continually deeper, and > deeper, and deeper. Currently I am reading Song of Kali by Dan Simmons, > writing a (so far) unnamed novella revolving around the idea of the female > monster, and creating an online writing portfolio that f” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

