Reason #34 to Keep Living: Education

dsc01941

If I have it my way, the next half of this blog-series will become somewhat of a travel blog, documenting my adventures finding work in countries other than Canada. Travel, as you know from past blog posts, is one of the central reasons I stay alive. I find value in it not only from its pleasure, but also from its inherent educational tendencies. Every time I travel, my brain stretches and my heart grows a little bigger. 

But this post isn’t about travel. It’s about education, and not only the education that travel provides. The travel that is (hopefully) in my future wouldn’t be possible without education. This education comes pretty easily to me, which I hadn’t fully appreciated until this year. Like most people in Western culture, I grew up with education ranging from decent to incredible, never realizing what that meant. It wasn’t until I began to travel and become educated in a different sense that I came to know the full privilege and opportunity with which I have been blessed.

I intend to make good use of that privilege and opportunity. I don’t know fully yet what that will entail, but I know it won’t be easy, and I know it will take a lot of humbling in the meantime.

Considering the life I have been given, what else can I do but continually put myself in situations in which my brain will be forced to stretch and my heart to grow? How can I exist in any other way?


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriter in weeks to come!


Read the original post of 101 Reasons to Keep Living to discover the genesis of this project.

Leave a Reply

