Reason #38 to Keep Living: Beginnings, Endings, and Everything in Between

IMG_0065

The seasons are changing (finally!), and so is nearly everything in my life. The weather reflects my emotions: on some days I am sunny, pounding around the house in excitement like a child; on some days I am rainy, I thunder, wondering how I will ever make it through the coming year without losing myself in the process.

Soon I will be moving houses once again. I will have to say goodbye to the cats I have taken care of for the past six months, as well as the roommates who have kept me company and with whom I have become unexpected friends this past year. I will have to say goodbye to some furniture, some clothing, and anything else I can bear to leave behind. Most significantly, I will have to say goodbye to the life and routine I have developed at university for the last four years.

But I will be saying hello to much more. I will be saying hello to my new job teaching English online, which is already more satisfying and purposeful than any job I have previously worked. I will be saying hello to more time with my family, and perhaps some time spent up North on a beautiful lake. I will be saying hello to an impromptu vacation with my boyfriend and his sister, and, at the end of the year, I will be saying hello to a job teaching English in Japan, which will hopefully be synonymous with saying hello to the adventure of a lifetime.

I am grieving; I am celebrating. I have an infinite number of reasons to be alive.


If you have a reason to keep living, whether it be big or small, simple or complex, send it with a photo and a brief explanation to erica-mck@hotmail.com. Your photo and writing will be featured on the Amber Typewriting in weeks to come!


Read the original post of 101 Reasons to Keep Living to discover the genesis of this project, or catch up on any posts you might have missed here

Leave a Reply

