Reason #40 to Keep Living: Work

29953424_Unknown

What, you might ask, does this photo have to do with work?

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. 

This is me on vacation in Hawaii because I was fortunate enough to obtain a job two months ago that gives me decent compensation as well as personal satisfaction. I am beyond grateful. I am ecstatic. Because of my lucky, spoiled rotten life, I was able to come out of the busiest, most demanding semester of my time in university with a tropical week and a half with two very lovely and accommodating people.

This trip was an ideal rest before I get down and dirty with my work, which will commence as soon as I return home in a couple of days. This work will include teaching English online in the early mornings, completing my final two credits to meet the requirements of my undergraduate degree, collaborating with a poet from Toronto throughout the month of June to present an hour-long reading/performance at the end of the month (stay tuned for more details), and (hopefully!) working on some writing projects which have been stalled for much too long.

Coming out of a Hawaiian vacation, you would think that I would be dreading this inevitable work load. Not so the case. I am anxious, sure, and curious about how far I can push myself in the coming months, but above all I am excited and content — two emotions that I didn’t  know could go hand in hand. After years of struggling with mental illness and dissatisfaction with my day-to-day life, I have finally managed to fill my time with all the things that I love: great companionship (great students), great literature, and writing. Oh, and did I mention I’ll be fitting some rock climbing in there as well?

What more could there be to live for?


Read the original post of 101 Reasons to Keep Living to discover the genesis of this project, or catch up on any posts you might have missed here

2 thoughts on “Reason #40 to Keep Living: Work

Leave a Reply

